when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted Provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each Province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917.

In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of the enforcement of Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of the War of 1914-18, an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and, therefore, the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

**Control and Organization.**—The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice) and, as stated above, may be employed anywhere in Canada. Its officers are commissioned by the Crown and for many years have been selected from serving non-commissioned officers.

The Force is divided into 13 Divisions of varying strength, distributed over the entire country. Recruiting in Canada is once again in full swing, after the long period of the War, during which the Force received no recruits. The term of engagement for recruits is five years, and the minimum age for a third-class constable is 21 years.

Recruits are trained at Regina, Sask., and Rockcliffe, Ont. Police Colleges are also maintained at these centres, where courses of training and instruction are given to keep the Force abreast of the latest developments in criminology. In 1937, a Reserve was established which now numbers over 500: units are located principally at such large centres as Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary and Halifax, where men can be congregated easily, and where instruction can be given in the evenings.

From a total of 300 in 1873, the Force grew to over 4,700 by 1944 and in 1946 had a strength of approximately 3,000. Its means of transport consists of 143 horses, 837 motor-vehicles, 4 aeroplanes and 280 sleigh dogs; 17 trained police dogs are maintained for tracking. Its Marine Section at present consists of 170 officers and men and 21 vessels of various sizes. The R.C.M. Police Aviation Section has a personnel of 12.

Duties.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police has the responsibility of enforcing Dominion laws throughout Canada and is specially empowered to deal with infractions against smuggling by sea, land and air. It also enforces the provisions of the Excise Act, and is responsible for the suppression of traffic in narcotic drugs. In all, the Force has responsibility in almost 50 Dominion Acts including the Indian Act. It also assists many departments of the Dominion Government in administrative duties and is responsible for the protection of Government buildings and property and some of the more important dockyards. It is the sole police force operating in the Northwest Territories and Yukon. Furthermore, it undertakes secret and security services for the Dominion Government. In